This Website is discontinued. We changed to Parstoday English
Wednesday, 09 March 2016 09:19

Slovenia, Croatia restrict transit of refugees as crisis worsens

Slovenia, Croatia restrict transit of refugees as crisis worsens
Slovenia and neighboring Croatia have banned the transit of most refugees through their countries to seal off the Balkan route used by conflict-hit people to reach northern Europe.

Slovenia's Interior Ministry said late Tuesday that only “foreigners meeting the requirements to enter the country” would be allowed access from midnight.

Refugees will be selected "on a case by case basis on humanitarian grounds and in accordance with the rules of the Schengen zone,” the statement added.

Croatia also adopted similar restrictions and refused transit to most refugees as of early Wednesday.

"Apparently Europe has decided to start a new phase in resolving the migrant crisis. It was concluded that on the Schengen zone borders the Schengen rules would be applied," said Croatian Interior Minister Vlaho Orepic, whose country is not part of visa-free Schengen zone.

Croatia also said it would only grant access to refugees with proper visas.

Serbia also said it would follow suit and impose similar restrictions at its borders with Bulgaria and Macedonia.


Add comment

Security code